Middle States Accreditation

Lower Campus Academic Quad

Middle States Accreditation

Carver Hall President's Office

Office of the President

Bloomsburg University
Carver Hall
400 E. Second St.
Bloomsburg, PA 17815-1301

David L. Soltz, Ph.D., President

Ira Blake, Senior VP and Provost

Accreditation by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) is essential for the University. Not only does it affirm the University’s quality, it also is a federal requirement making students eligible for financial aid such as Pell grants and faculty able to apply for funding from federal agencies.

MSCHE member institutions approved the revised accreditation standards, Standards for Accreditation and Requirements of Affiliation (Thirteenth Editions). These seven revised standards will govern Bloomsburg University’s 2018-2019 Self Study Review process.

2014 MSCHE Periodic Review Report

(5-Year Reaccreditation)

At its session on Nov. 20, 2014, the Middle States Commission on Higher Education Acted: To accept the MSCHE Periodic Review Report and reaffirm accreditation. The next evaluation visit is scheduled for 2018-19. Bloomsburg University’s MSCHE Periodic Review Report was submitted by June 1, 2014. A committee comprised of faculty, administrators, and staff members, established in Fall 2012 by President Soltz, wrote the report based on evidence of overall university effectiveness. The Periodic Review Report to the Middle States Commission on Higher Education consists of six sections: (1) Executive Summary, (2) Responses to Recommendations of the Commission, (3) Challenges and Opportunities, (4) Trends and Projections of Enrollment and Finance, (5) Assessment Processes, and (6) Linked Planning and Budgeting Processes. Throughout the 2012-14 academic years, public comment periods on the PRR drafts were held through open forums, presentations to standing committees, and the Bloomsburg University webpage.

2011 MSCHE Monitoring Report

The requested MSCHE Monitoring Report, submitted on April 1, 2011, was accepted on June 23, 2011, by the commission. The Monitoring Report documented: “(1) the revision and clarification of the institution’s mission and goals (Standard 1); (2) the further development of goals and objectives or strategies that are clearly stated, reflect conclusion drawn from assessment results, are linked to mission and goal achievement, and are used for planning and resource allocation at the institutional and unit level (Standard 2); and (3) steps taken to strengthen general education, including the development of observable learning goals appropriate to higher education and institutional mission and stated as outcomes and the implementation of a documented assessment process for general education (Standard 12)."

2009 MSCHE Decennial Reaccreditation

In 2009 Bloomsburg University completed its decennial reaccreditation with the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (www.msche.org). The reaccreditation was conducted in compliance with the fourteen standards of excellence promulgated by the Middles States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE, 2011, Characteristics of Excellence in Higher Education). Reaffirmation of Bloomsburg University’s MSCHE Accreditation was based on the MSCHE Visitation Report and the Self-Study Report.

MSCHE Substantive Change Requests - “Additional Locations”

Bloomsburg University submitted several MSCHE Substantive Change Requests for the approval of “Additional Locations." Two substantive change requests, submitted on April 30, 2014, were approved on July 1, 2014, including the Bachelor of Applied Science Degree in Technical Leadership at Reading Area Community College (provisionally) and The Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction Programs at Hazleton Area High School.

The BAS for Technology Leadership at Lehigh Carbon Community College (located in Schnecksville, PA), submitted July 3, 2012, was approved by MSCHE on June 27, 2013. The Bachelor of Science in Nursing (located at Geisinger Medical Center, Danville, PA) submitted February 2014, was approved by MSCHE on March 6, 2014.

Accreditors Approved by U.S. Secretary of Education: American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology; Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education; Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs; National Association of Schools of Art and Design, Commission on Accreditation; National Association of Schools of Music, Commission on Accreditation; National Association of Schools of Theatre, Commission on Accreditation; Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation.

Other Accreditors: Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB); Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET); American Society of Exercise Physiologists (ASEP); Council on Social Work Education (CSWE); Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP); Council on Education of the Deaf (CED); Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE).

Distance Education Programs: Fully Approved.

Instructional Locations

Branch Campuses: None

Additional Locations: BLaST Intermediate Unit #17, Williamsport, PA; Geisinger Medical Center, Danville, PA; Harrisburg Area Community College, Harrisburg, PA (ANYA (Approved but Not Yet Active)); Hazleton Area School District, Hazel Township, PA; Lehigh Carbon Community College, Schnecksville, PA; Northampton Community College, Bethlehem, PA (ANYA (Approved but Not Yet Active)); Reading Area Community College, Reading, PA.

Other Instructional Sites: Benton High School, Benton, PA; Berwick Area School District, Berwick, PA; BLaST IU17 Office, Williamsport, PA; Bloomsburg School District, Bloomsburg, PA; Bucknell University, Lewisburg, PA; Central Columbia School District, Bloomsburg, PA; Cochran Elementary School, Williamsport, PA; Crestwood High School, Mountaintop, PA; Danville School District, Danville, PA; Degenstein Library, Sunbury, PA; Dixon University Center, Harrisburg, PA; Hazleton School District, Hazleton, PA; Lehigh Carbon Community College-Morgan Center, Tamaqua, PA; Luzerne County Community College, Nanticoke, PA; Shikellamy High School, Sunbury, PA; Wilkes University, Wilkes-Barre, PA; Williamsport School District, Williamsport, PA

Middle States Commission on Higher Education Documents