You are here
Faculty/Staff Network Drives
Faculty/Staff Network Drives
- Local storage drives: Once logged onto a campus computer, employees have access to the local storage drives on their computer. Local drives are usually reserved with the lower letters of the alphabet (a, b, c, d, e, etc.) Documents may be saved on the local storage drives. Be aware there are no automatic backups for data stored on a local drive. Backups are the sole responsibility of the person saving the documents there. Keep in mind if your hard drive crashes, the data may be unrecoverable.
- Network storage drives: Each faculty/staff member has access to certain network drives when logged onto their office computer. Network drives are automatically backed up nightly and have file snapshots taken twice daily, so there is a large advantage to placing documents on a network drive. See network drives available (section below).
Storing Confidential Information
- Any files that contain confidential data should be stored on your personal (P) drive or your departmental (U) drive. If you have any special concerns or you need a folder to exchange confidential data with another department, please contact Sam Josuweit in Network Services.
- Data that contains social security numbers or other sensitive information should not be stored on the public drives (S and T). All faculty, staff and student workers have access to the S drive. Additionally, all students have access to the T drive.
Access Network Drives From Any Location
Network drives may be accessed over the web from remote locations in the following ways:
- By using a Remote Desktop Connection - instruction here.
- By using the Remote Access Service. Employees will be prompted to log in with their network user name and password.
- Files can be uploaded and downloaded. In addition, files are able to be deleted or renamed. Note: Be certain to logout when finished.
When logged into a campus computer, network drives can be accessed by double clicking on the "My Computer" icon on the desktop or the "Computer" option on the start menu:
|S||Contains public information, BU documents, job postings, etc.
Note: There is a public folder on the S drive: This folder is called Public. This is a place anyone can temporarily save documents to. Be aware though that this is for very temporary storage. Documents on this drive that are older than 7 days will be purged Sunday evening at midnight. This folder is designed for a quick place to share documents. Also be aware that this folder is able to viewed by anyone logged into the network; therefore, do not place confidential documents in this folder.
|P||Your personal network drive - (15 Gigabytes of storage) - **See below to understand the benefits of utilizing your P drive!**|
|T||Student/Fac/Staff Public Share drive. 5 GB user limit. This drive is designed for temporary file transfer use only. Documents on this drive that are older than 7 days will be purged Sunday evening at midnight. This folder is able to viewed by anyone logged into the network; therefore, do not place confidential documents in this folder.|
|U||A group shared drive, organized by department.|
Database area for shared Access databases. If you need to share (or have support on) your Access databases place them on the V drive. If your Access databases do not need to be shared, you may keep them on your departmental shared (U) drive.
|W||Web area for personal home pages.|
|R||Some departments will have an R drive that is used for department servers.|
Reminder - No file storage is absolutely secure. You are always responsible for backing up your files and maintaining your personal storage space.
Understanding your Personal (P) Drive
- The P drive has an allotted 15 gigabytes of space.
- No one else will be able to access your files.
- Files are automatically backed up nightly.
- Files can be easily restored if accidentally overwritten or deleted with feature called "Snapshot Copy" (see info below)
Saving files to your P drive
Create your document and then click on File - Save as. Click the drop down button next to Save in - Choose the P drive. Enter a file name and save.
Snapshot (Shadow Copy) - Documents Stored on Personal (P) Drive
- Snapshots (shadow copies) of your network files are available on your Windows desktop computer.
- Snapshots are created of documents saved on network at 6 am & noon daily.
- The server creates up to 64 snapshot copies, subject to available disk space, which gives lots of opportunities to pull from older versions!
- Snapshots are only done on documents saved on the network drives. Documents saved locally (C drive) will not have snapshots available!
Retrieving Previous Version of Documents stored on P drive
- Right mouse click on the Start button.
- Choose Explore.
- Locate your P drive or folder on P drive.
- Right click on P drive or folder on P drive. Choose Properties.
- Choose tab "Previous Versions"
- You will see previous versions available.
Highlight the folder or document and choose View or Copy. Be extremely cautious using "Restore" - you could accidentally restore an entire folder and overwrite documents you didn't intend to overwrite.
If a document had been accidentally deleted, right click on the folder (or drive) it was stored in before deletion to find it. Look at the previous versions and you should easily be able to find your deleted document. Open it and save in location you desire.