The Voice chosen among the nation’s best

The Voice chosen among the nation’s best

The Voice BU’s student newspaper, The Voice, has been recognized by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association with 11 Gold Circle Awards for 2010. These national awards are given annually to individual student journalists for excellence in writing and design.

This year’s competition attracted 9,460 entries from college, university, and secondary school newspapers, magazines, and online media sites throughout the U.S. and Canada.

Talia Zangari and Vanessa Pellechio, opinion editors, won a First Place in Editorial Page Design and a Second Place in Op-Ed Page Design for their portfolio of pages from Spring 2010. In addition, Zangari won a Certificate of Merit in General Commentary for her article “Where’s Waldo?”

In the Sports Commentary category, Nick Jones and Rebecca Hall won a First Place for “When Fans Collide,” a piece about NASCAR, and Amanda Hopkins’ and Heather Engiles’ photo feature on BU Food Service workers, called “Lunch Lady Lovin’,” won a Certificate of Merit in the General Features category. Jones and Kate Firestone won a Third Place in Single Subject Package category for their “Battle of the Smart Phones.”

For overall page content and design, Charles John Babcock, Jones, and Oliver Ghingold won a Second Place in the Single Subject Package category for their Summer Arts & Entertainment page in April 2010. In addition, Certificates of Merit went to Fred Bloss for his Entertainment Review, “Unassailable,” and to Melissa Cruz for her original comic cartoon “Tripled.”

Sports staff won a Certificate of Merit for their page honoring Coach Jan Hutchinson on her retirement. This was a team effort by Justin Lockowitz, Marquis Wince, Eric Ness, and Brandon Hoser. The staff overall won a Certificate of Merit for headline writing as well.

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association began giving Gold Circle Awards to recognize individual achievement among student writers, editors, designers, and photographers in 1984. The Voice previously won eight awards in 2008 and nine awards in 2009. Editor in chief currently is Jones. Adviser is Mary Bernath, associate professor of English.